IECER 2016:

CHANGE. The NEw face of ENtrepreneurship.

The forthcoming 14th edition of the Interdisciplinary European Conference on Entrepreneurship Research IECER is about change. Digital technologies are transforming industrial and service-oriented economies. Signs of change are anywhere: New business models evolve that are based on other people’s resources. Entrepreneurs more and more coordinate than produce or deliver products. Digital technologies have facilitated the access to geographically remote knowledge sources in technology intensive areas. Even young firms are now able to internationalise knowledge-intensive corporate functions such as R&D or communication services. Trade statistics might not be able to capture the international exchange of these online services. Peer-to-peer-markets offer opportunities for firms and individuals to raise capital that have been intermediated by incumbent players of the financial industry for a long time.
The digital economy might even bring change for the research field. Over the last decades, social scientists have used questionnaires to test their research hypotheses. With the acquisition of digital data of social and economic activity, it is now possible to answer research questions that integrate observations from diverse sources of the web and other digital devices. Furthermore, although the segment of academic publishing appears to be relatively stable, one can yet witness that disruptive innovations of new services and modes of publishing are under way.

We will focus on many aspects of the rise of the new economy and discuss the opportunities and risks it may bring through research papers, research-in-progress, panel discussions and workshops. We will examine how organisations evolve, innovate, cooperate, change, and grow. We welcome innovative and unique research contributions to better understand the behaviour of firms, industries, individuals and societies in this new context.

We are looking forward to the IECER 2016. See you in September in Switzerland!

Kerstin Wagner and Frank Lasch


The Interdisciplinary European Conference on Entrepreneurship Research IECER is an annual international conference on entrepreneurship topics attracting scholars and delegates from academia, business and government officials from around the world. Founded in 2003 by Jürgen Schmude (University of Munich) and Michael Dowling (University of Regensburg), the mission of IECER is to advance interdisciplinary entrepreneurship research in Europe. In ten years, Michael Dowling and Jürgen Schmude have established the conference as one of the leading conferences on interdisciplinary entrepreneurship research in Europe, providing researchers from a variety of disciplines the opportunity discuss their latest research advancements. Conceived as a high quality forum of entrepreneurship debate, the conference is held every year at different locations across Europe (Amsterdam, Brescia, Chur, Montpellier, Munich, Lisbon, etc. ) in the past years. The IECER Conference features reviewed research papers with running parallel tracks of 40-50 papers each year, with an acceptance rate around 50%.

After the 10th anniversary of the IECER, the academic coordination was handed over to Frank Lasch (Montpellier Business School) and Kerstin Wagner (HTW Chur). In March 2013, IECER was coordinated the first time by the new team with the support of the local organizers from Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore in Brescia, Italy. The IECER 2016 will take place from 7-9 September in Chur, Switzerland, a city 100 km east of Zurich. In September 2017, the 15th edition of the IECER will take place at the University of Siegen hosted by Friederike Welter, Petra Moog and Arndt Werner.

This year's program committee:
Michael Beier, HTW Chur, Switzerland
Heiko Bergmann, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Léo-Paul Dana, Montpellier Business School, France
Michael Dowling, University of Regensburg, Germany
Jutta Günther, University of Bremen, Germany
Marcel Hülsbeck, University of Witten / Herdecke, Germany
Björn Jindra, University of Bremen, Germany, and Kopenhagen Business School, Denmark
Elmar Konrad, University of Applied Sciences Mainz, Germany
Frank Lasch, Montpellier Business School, France
João Leitão, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Oliver Mauroner, Bauhaus University Weimar, Germany
Petra Moog, University of Siegen, Germany
Nina Rosenbusch, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
Simon Parker, Ivey Business School at Western University, Canada
Mark Sanders, Utrecht University School of Economics, The Netherlands
Jürgen Schmude, University of Munich, Germany
Oliver Som, Management Center Innsbruck, Austria
Roy Thurik, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands, and Montpellier Business School, France
Kerstin Wagner, HTW Chur, Switzerland
Arndt Werner, University of Siegen, Germany
Hans-Dieter Zimmermann, FHS St. Gallen University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland


Sign up for our newsletter


Share by: